h1

Exchange 2007 HTTP redirect to HTTPS not working with IE7

December 16, 2010

I recently had an issue trying to redirect HTTP to HTTPS for Exchange 2007 OWA. The issue ended up being a compatibility issue with IE7.

I followed the Microsoft article on "How to Simplify the Outlook Web Access URL" from the following link:

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa998359(EXCHG.80).aspx

After completing the steps, I tried to test out redirection, but I was continuously forwarded to a blank screen. After some frustration, I opened FireFox and realized that it worked brilliantly. After some additional troubleshooting, I discovered that redirection was also working for IE6, narrowing it down to an IE7 issue since I was running Windows 7 on the initial workstation that I was testing from.

After doing some research, I found this blog post which worked great for my environment.

HTTPS Redirect not working after upgrade to Exchange 2007 SP2 (Network Steve Forum)

The issue ended up being, "IE requires that the html code of the redirection page be at least 513 characters. So I added some padding to the code and it worked. "

After following the suggested instructions, this is what my SSLRedirect.htm ended up looking like:

<html>

<!–This is a comment i need it to be greater than 513 characters –>
<!–This is a comment i need it to be greater than 513 characters –>
<!–This is a comment i need it to be greater than 513 characters –>
<!–This is a comment i need it to be greater than 513 characters –>
<!–This is a comment i need it to be greater than 513 characters –>

<head>
<title>Microsoft Exchange – Outlook Web Access</title>
<META HTTP-EQUIV="Refresh" CONTENT="0; URL=
https://mail.domainname.com/exchange">
</head>

One comment

  1. Wow – you have no idea how helpful this was! Thanks so much!



Leave a Reply

